Time to construct?

I’ve heard about the authoring software Construct some weeks ago, but I didn’t care to check out the public beta back then. Recently it came back to my mind and I went to scirra.com to download the newest build version 0.81, which is supposed to be stable enough for some serious messing around.

And my first impressions are quite positive. The similarities to Clickteam’s Multimedia Fusion are obvious and that shouldn’t surprise you, since Construct is meant to be a real alternative to the famous clicktool.

So I was pretty fast in adding a player controlled sprite (with the build-in platform engine) and some blocks to walk on. Unfortunately I had to export an exe everytime I wanted to test my creation, because clicking on the run-button didn’t do anything for me. Apart from that I was quite surprised how well it worked, if only I could get the animations right already. I guess it just needs further tryouts to figure everything out. Sadly there’s no real documentation or help file for Construct yet.

Considering that it is a completely free open-source project and has some advanced features like pixel shader support, Construct could really become serious competition. Multimedia Fusion 2 is a solid application, but it isn’t the big deal people expected it to be when it was released last year. And, of course, MMF is still sold at about 100 bucks.

What else? Why don’t you go ahead and download the beta yourself.

Leave a Reply

